Protecting your business with workers' compensation insurance
There are a lot of things to consider when you own a business. One of the most important is protecting your business with workers' compensation insurance. It is required by almost every state in the US to get your employees the care they need to get back to work. This will protect your business from headaches and costly lawsuits. In every business, employees are always classified as an asset to the company, because they are essential for its success. Preparing for unexpected incidents is a big assurance to your employees that they are protected.
As a contractor, you are always on the lookout for ways to protect your business. This type of insurance provides many benefits for both you and your workers. For starters, workers' compensation insurance can help cover the costs of medical care if an employee is injured on the job. This can help you avoid paying for out-of-pocket expenses, which can be significant. In addition, workers' compensation insurance can provide income replacement benefits if an employee is unable to work due to an injury. This can ensure that your employees are able to maintain their standard of living while they recover. Overall, workers' compensation insurance provides protection for every business owner and contractor.
Not carrying workers' comp insurance can result in severe penalties in several states.
Some states have serious penalties for not acquiring workers’ compensation insurance. In these states, employers who do not carry workers’ compensation insurance can be fined, and their businesses can be shut down. In some cases, employers who do not hold workers’ compensation insurance can be criminally prosecuted. These penalties are designed to protect employers and provide a safeguard to employees who are injured on the job.
States that enforce penalties are:
California - Employers in California must provide workers’ compensation to their employees. If they don’t have insurance, they’re subject to up to one year in jail and fines no less than $10,000 - or both. The penalty for Illegal uninsured employers could face a penalty of up to $100,000.
Illinois - The penalty for an employer’s failure to secure workers’ compensation insurance is $500 per day of noncompliance, with a minimum of $10,000.
New York - Employers who are uninsured may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. In addition to a penalty of $2,000 for every 10 days without coverage, fines can vary from $1,000 to $50,000.
Pennsylvania - In Pennsylvania, willful noncompliance is a third-degree felony. A $15,000 fine and up to seven years in jail are possible penalties.
Here at Pascal Burke Insurance Brokerage, we specialize in giving the best Workers' Compensation Insurancefit for your business needs. We are specialists in an array of policies that cover not only general contractors but every single trade in construction. For a hassle-free transaction about your insurance policy reach us at buildersartisans.com.